2024 · Anglican · Blogging · Church of England · Clergy Wife · England · Food · Ocado · Rural · Spring · Vicarage · Vicarage Kitchen

From The Vicarage Kitchen – CHEAT’S Chicken Madras Chettinad

Photo by Mareefe on Pexels.com

Friday, 3 May 2024

I think I mentioned somewhere that we tend to stay at self catering accommodation when we go away on holiday. During one such holiday, I had bought a pouch of Holy Cow! Madras Chettinad sauce from Ocado but never had the opportunity to use it.

Last week, I found it in the food cupboard when I was rummaging for something else and so made a mental note to use it in the new week which I now have. I made this solely for the vicar’s enjoyment as I can’t eat spicy food. He gave it a thumbs up but did say that it was on the spicy side!

Ingredients (Serves 2)

1 pouch Holy Cow! Madras Chettinad sauce.

2 organic chicken breast fillets – cut into bite size pieces

1/2 organic Aubergine (optional) – cut into bite size pieces if using

Method

Heat two tablespoons of oil (I used olive oil but you can use any other oil that is suitable). Add the chicken and the aubergine and saute until they turn light brown.

Add the Madras Chettinad sauce and bring to a boil. Add a little water if you find that the sauce is a little too thick.

Voila! You are ready to serve.

I served mine with Basmati rice, poppadoms and sauteed organic green beans.

NB: I am not affiliated with the company that produces the sauce and I do not get paid for promoting it.