2024 · Anglican · Blogging · Church of England · Clergy Wife · England · God · Rural · Summer · Vicarage

That Couple!

Wednesday, 12 June 2024

The past several weeks have been extremely trying for me. My health is at an all time low and naturally I am a little discouraged. However, I have been continuing to go to church on Sundays as church helps me to “reset” my buttons and equips me for all the challenges of the new week.

I don’t appreciate the incessant chatter before the service so I tend to saunter in nearer the time which meant that on Sunday past my usual pew was taken up by somebody else which was fine. However, I had to sit behind “that couple” which was not fine!

“That couple” refers to a middle aged couple who just can’t stop talking to each other during the service. They talk to each other ALL the time! I kid you not!

I find their behaviour very disrespectful. I know that this is an unholy thought but there have been times when I just wished that they had stayed at home to chat!!!